Why I Don’t Study On A Sunday

I’m lying awake in bed right now at 2am because I unwisely drank a cup of tea at 7pm (I know, I’m pathetic) and thus have a long night ahead of me. So I figured, why not do something useful and make that blog post I’ve been meaning to make for a few weeks?
So. I don’t study on Sundays.
I remember in fifth year maths, the department wanted us to go to school on a Saturday and Sunday morning for extra supported study. Sounds like torture, right? It was. Well, it was “voluntary” torture. And by voluntary I mean, extremely highly recommended torture.
So the week before the weekend of horror, my teacher asked me if I was going to sign up. “For Saturday,” I said (albeit with extreme reluctance) “But not on Sunday.”
“Why not?” he said.
“I don’t study on Sundays,” I said, to which I was met with shocked stares. Apparently, everyone apart from me thought this was crazy, and so I quickly slipped in the: “Because of religious reasons,” to end the conversation before it began.  
And, let’s be real, Christianity was a good excuse when I first started studying for exams. Sabbath means no studying? Sweet!  A guilt-free day off. It wasn’t really anything to do with my faith – it’s like the typical “sorry, my mum says I can’t go”. It was just an excuse for me that I didn’t feel bad using.  
However, you might have guessed that my reasons are not, in fact, the same as they used to be on this subject. Yes, they are still grounded in the fact I’m a Christian so believe I should have a day of rest, but there’s a lot more to it.
Putting the science goggles on (which I don’t do often, so prepare yourself), studies have proven that working 7 days a week is not good for you. It can reduce your cognitive ability, become a factor in mental health disorders such as depression, and can even increase the risk of heart disease. Not fun.
But who seriously works 7 days a week? For one thing, it’s not really legal. For another, the idea seems ludicrous. To put it simply, by trying to work every day you would burn yourself out.
Why then does this not apply to studying? As a full time student, there’s an expectation that I will study all day, every day. Most students balance this with part time jobs, social lives, maybe some clubs or societies. When you’re left with all these responsibilities and are also studying 24/7 it’s not surprising how stressed a massive handful of students are.
I get that exams are important and that there’s so much to learn for them, but by studying every day, I’m putting myself at a bit of a disadvantage.
If you take a day off once a week, then you’re actually more likely to be more productive the days you do study, as you’ve managed to revitalise yourself and have a bit of a relax.
I mean, for me, the idea of spending the foreseeable future without taking a break is an actual nightmare. Sundays are my lifeline during study leave. I look forward to a day where I don’t have to spend my life crying into textbooks. Sundays are what get me through exam time!
It also helps me to rely on God that little bit more at such a stressful time. When I’m doing nothing all week anyway, how is a Sunday any different from any other day? By actually changing something about my daily life one day a week I’m making it clear that this is a day for God, not for me.
Whether you believe in God or not, I think that not studying one day a week is worth considering. For me, obviously, my religion plays a huge part in the decision, but to be honest, if you don’t study one day a week: you’re better of health-wise, study-wise and you have something to look forward to that has nothing to do with exams. What’s not to love?
Thanks for reading though, and hopefully I’ll get fewer weird looks from people now when I say that I don’t study on Sundays! Jx

Leave a Reply

